Social media kids being social..(in real-life)

Ever tried to explain what Twitter is to someone who isn’t an Internet junkie or generally tech savvy?

You can almost imagine their eyes glazing over long before you say: “It’s a micro-blog”.

Over the past month, it has become quite clear that I’ve created two sets of friends: 1) Internet-lovers and 2) the “I’d rather be outside” crowd. Having the two has kept my life in balance – continuously playing a check ‘n balances act.

Recently, I’ve heard a lot of resistance and mockery from group 2 about the lack of “true” social interaction of group 1. My best friend of decades, who happens to work for a little company that rhymes with “Oogle” scoffed and blurted out:

Social media? What does that mean? What happened to calling someone – don’t ever tweet me.

Touché, I say.

But, interestingly, group #1 of late has started to evolve and, dare I say, cross the line into group #2. <<Check out the listing of events here>>

Could my online social networking groups actually generate new offline social groups?

I’m a Facebook user, but I never thought of it as a tool to actively make new connections. Everyone I befriend is someone I’ve met and have had face-to-face conversations. Since SXSW, the tables have turned. Now, an introduction is made online, and then we meet-up.

Is this the next iteration of social networking?  Or, perhaps I’ve been using these tools incorrectly this whole time. ..

 

4 Responses

  1. That’s absolutely it! Social media isn’t about replacing a phone call or replacing going out on Saturday night. Social media is about learning more about your acquaintances and developing those relationships into new friendships. It’s also a great way to keep in touch with your current friends when life turns hectic or as friends move away. At least that’s how I see it. 🙂

  2. You know my answer to all this. Better interaction. Social media is the grease on the wheels to get us all connected. Plus going back to better interaction we should feel free to limit out social networks as you see fit. Don’t work with me? Don’t add me on LinkedIN. We have never had a beer or even met? Don’t add me on Facebook. OOGLE is right to some degree.

    Also Ignore with Comments. Someone develop that already!

  3. I’m a Facebook person too, but people keep talking about Twitter. I’ve tried to get into it, but I just don’t see the point in maintaining another network that I already maintain via Facebook status updates. Their traffic has gone up, but it continues to fluctuate, so I wonder if people get Twitter-ed out after a while, only to create a pseudo revolving door of users?

  4. I did it. You got me to join Twitter. I’m going to follow you 🙂

Leave a Reply

