Girls in Tech – Texas style?

Last week while surfing Mashable, I stumbled upon the Girls in Tech (GIT) SF event which featured a great line-up of women in tech speakers. Coveting 1) the location 2) the stellar line-up, I decided to contact Adriana Gascoigne first hand. Really, I just wanted to know if she was planning on hosting these types of events outside of the Bay Area.

To my surprise, I received an email back from Adriana asking me if I wanted to head-up the GIT chapter for Texas. (SWEET) What an interesting proposition. I think it would be super beneficial and a great way to bring everyone together.

But, I have three reservations – and would appreciate your opinions on them:

  1. I’m embarking on a fairly ambitious project – meeting everyone on my Dream Big list. Which would you like to see really happen? I think I could swing both projects, but thought I’d gauge interest.
  2. Know my social calendar is filling up quickly (shocking!, I know) so yours must be too. Do we really need ANOTHER group?
  3. I would need help – a second in command. Plus, as large as Texas is, I’m going to need a network of ladies from all the major areas. ANY TAKERS?

Would love to make this happen, but also want to be cognizant of possible road blocks. Also, I’m toying with the idea of being non-affiliated. Thoughts?

 

Leave a Reply

